Amber Lake Processor

What is Amber Lake Processor?

The Amber Lake processors refer to the Intel CPUs typically built on the 3rd generation improved 14 nm manufacturing process and are the successors to Kaby Lake and predecessors of Ice Lake CPUs.

Technically, the architecture of the Amber Lake processors built on the CMOS technology is the mobile version of the Kaby Lake microarchitecture of Intel.

It supports the x86-64 ISA and a word size of 64 bits. The chipset comes packed in a multichip unit.

Understanding Amber Lake Processor

What is Amber Lake Processor

The Amber Lake microarchitecture is a creation of Intel, released on August 28, 2018.

This successor to Kaby Lake and predecessor of Ice Lake are intended for use in extremely-low power mobile devices.

These processors typically have a dual-core configuration and have four threads in them to handle almost everything thrown at them.

Read Also:  What is FinFET (Fin Field Effect Transistor)? (Explained)


Built on the 14 nm manufacturing process, the architecture supports a pipeline with the following features and abilities:

Instruction Set Architecture and Extension Support

The architecture also follows the x86-64 Instruction Set Architecture (ISA) and the following extensions:

Cache Memory Hierarchy

The cache memory of the Amber Lake processors is divided into L1, L2, and L3 cache, where the Level 1 cache is divided into two parts, one for the instructions called the L1I cache, and the other for data, called the L1D cache.

The Level 1 instruction and data caches both come with the following features:

Read Also:  What is Turion Processor? (Explained)

The Level L2 cache comes with the following features:

The Level 3 cache comes with the following features:

Compiler Support

The cores of the Amber lake processors are however named Whiskey Lake U and support a variety of arch-specific and arch-favorable compilers due to its specific architecture such as:

Amber Lake Y

Intel also released a very low-power line of CPUs on Amber Lake Y cores later on. These particular processors are mainly designed to be used in smaller mobile devices such as:

These processors are built on the more advanced 14 nm ++ process from Intel and support a slightly higher CPU clock rate.

The Amber Lake Y processors are also single-chip solutions, and there is a lightweight On-Package Interconnect (OPI) interface that helps in communicating among the separate dies.

This interface supports a 4 GT/s data transfer rate, which, in turn, increases the overall performance.

Common Features

The common features of all of the Amber Lake Y processors are as follows:

Additional Instruction Sets and Technology Support

Apart from the instruction sets mentioned above, the Amber Lake Y processors also support a couple of additional ISAs such as:

Read Also:  Chipset and Processor: 8 Differences

However, not all Amber Lake Y models support the AVX or AVX2 Instruction Set Architectures.

In addition to that, these specific processors also support a few other technologies such as:

Graphics Support

Another significant aspect of these low-power Amber Lake Y processors built with a Ball Grid Array or BGA 1515 socket is that they come with an integrated GT2 graphics processor.

Typically, these specific processors support UHD Graphics 617 and UHD Graphics 615 (Gen 9.5 GT2) with the following features and abilities:


The Amber Lake processors fall in between Kaby Lake and Ice Lake processors and are contemporary to Coffee Lake, Whiskey Lake and Cannon Lake processors.

The architectural design of these processors allows them to offer a significantly higher and better performance in comparison, when used in low-power mobile devices.